Kerrville Domestic Violence Lawyer
Call (830) 331-5977 to Speak with Our Experienced Legal Team
Have you been accused of domestic violence? Act quickly to pursue the legal assistance. A strong defense is crucial when your family, your job, and your reputation are on the line. The Kerrville domestic violence attorneys at The Law Office of Patrick O’Fiel, P.C. have a long-standing reputation for effective advocacy for clients throughout Kerrville and the surrounding areas. With a track record of success and over 20 yearsof experience in the field, our firm has the resources you need to make informed decisions about your future.
Simply being served with a restraining order related to a domestic violence accusation has an immense impact on your life. It is important to take swift action to protect your Constitutional rights.
Facing domestic violence charges? Discuss your case with a Kerrville domestic violence lawyer today. Contact us at (830) 331-5977.
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Texas
Domestic violence in Texas is defined as assaulting a family member, household member, or current or past romantic partner. It must be proven that the accused intentionally or recklessly harmed another person, threatened them with bodily injury, or caused physical contact that the other partner would find offensive.
Domestic violence convictions can carry severe consequences, such as:
- Deportation from the United States, if you are not a citizen
- Extensive jail or prison time
- Inability to own and carry firearms
- Injured reputation
- Loss of professional licenses
- Effecting rights pertaining to your children
- Loss of your rights to have firearms
What Class is a Domestic Violence Charge?
In the state of Texas, domestic violence can be a misdemeanor or felony depending on the underlying crime and the circumstances surrounding it.
Possible domestic violence classes:
- Class A misdemeanor: punishable by a $4,000 fine and/or up to one year in jail
- Third degree felony: punishable by a $10,000 fine and 2 to 10 years in prison
- Second degree felony: punishable by a $10,000 fine and 2 to 20 years in prison
- First degree felony – punishable by a $10,000 fine and 5 to 99 years in prison
Texas Domestic Violence Statute of Limitations
In Texas, Domestic violence, or domestic assault, is a misdemeanor, which puts the statute of limitations at two years. A charge of continuous violence against the family charge is a felony, the statute of limitations is bumped to three years.
Facing Charges? Schedule Your Consultation Today
Our founder and Kerrville domestic violence Attorney Patrick O'Fiel is a fifth-generation Texas lawyer. Our firm has a proven reputation in the local community and has handled countless successful cases for clients facing difficult situations. When you need protection from domestic violence allegations, retain our defense lawyer as soon as possible.
If you are facing charges for domestic assault, contact The Law Office of Patrick O’Fiel, P.C. at (830) 331-5977 for a case review today.